Head Gasket help

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2002, 01:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Head Gasket help

I posted a thread a couple of daysago and you guys are awesome about helping out. I still have an over-heating problem as I did in the previous thread, but now I have people telling me it is a head gasket, and others telling me it's the oil I'm using. They said that these cars are picky about running light oil in them. I run 5w30. Am I beating my head against the wall or am I going to have to change the head gasket? I pulled all 5 plug and the three inners were perfect and the two ends were running alittle on the white side. I'm new to this and need as much help as I can get. Thanks.
Old 06-22-2002, 03:50 PM

Default Re: Head Gasket help

Isn't the oil. I just changed it with 20W50 and no change. No water in the oil either. I took it down an exit on the highway with the A/C going and half way down it jumps to hot. I pull off the exit and boom, it's boiling over. Now its got brown particals all thru it and the waters kinda milky. I can't see it being a head gasket because it doesn't show the signs (miss, smoke, water in the oil) nothing. Somebody tell me this has happened to them and you know whats wrong. This is my only car and I'm not a millionare. Somebody help!!
Old 06-22-2002, 09:28 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default Re: Head Gasket help

You may not have water in the oil but it sure sounds like you have oil in the water. That pretty much has to be a failed head gasket. If it's your only car, I wouldn't risk not changing it. That is, before more damage is done.
Old 06-22-2002, 10:41 PM
AudiWorld Super User

FLAGREEN, where in florida are you?
Old 06-22-2002, 11:03 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default Re: FLAGREEN, where in florida are you?

St. Petersburg - You?
Old 06-23-2002, 12:54 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Ft. lauderdale
Old 06-23-2002, 04:46 AM

Default Re: Head Gasket?

Get a compression gauge and do a compression check. That should tell you.