HELP NEEDED!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2002, 08:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP NEEDED!!!

I got a 1986 Audi 4000cs. I'm not a mechanic so you'll have to bear with my lack of the vocabulary. I think I need a fuel pressure regulator. and the big black thing that sit behind the fuel distributor. it may be a fuel filter cover.it has a crack in it. any way the car will crank but it's flooding out real bad. another problem is There are no junk yards or Audi dealerships around southern Tennessee. I need to find a web sight that has these parts cheap. I found the fuel pressure regulator for 156$ Is that a good price. If someone else has the piece and would like to sell it get back in touch with me. The car is a P.O.S. right now. A women said If I can fix it I can have it. I plan to fix it up. I'm a vw fan.
Old 03-05-2002, 10:11 AM

Default Re: HELP NEEDED!!!

I wouldn't jump on the pressure regulator, it sounds high. But you do need the boot in an uncracked condition. I almost wonder (the flooding out part) if the plunger on the bottom of the fuel distributor isn't stuck. With a cracked boot you should run lean. I don't know any fixes off hand for a stuck plunger.

I think there are several sites that can help you with the boot. Maybe www.force5auto.com can help or Shokan auto out of NY can help. Shokan may be expensive, but Qudi is one of their specialties. I don't know the website off hand for Shokan, try a search.

These guys can tell you of many places. I would have thought that a salvage yard in your area could perform a locator search, though. I would guess that a used boot would cost you no more than $50.
Old 03-05-2002, 12:10 PM