I hate Vacumn lines...ahg insight needed

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2009, 04:47 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I hate Vacumn lines...ahg insight needed

I am in the process of Re-installing the differential locks and making my 3-gauges functional, so now I have a few questions

1. The gauges are a wiring nightmare, were the diff. locks/gauges optional?
2. which came standard?
3. Was the wiring/vacumn lines for BOTH present from the factory for a 4kq?
I was playing with the lockers and started replacing the vac line, and found that I can get the center/front lock indicator light to turn on, but even though I tried actuating the rear by hand I couldnt get the light to turn on. I know its not the light because I wired in LEDs,
4. Does the rear locker require adjustment or could the switch be faulty?
and the biggest one of all, Im no expert, but those lockers will require a pretty hefty vacumn to move the switch, and with the lines there is hardly any pull.
and with some more digging around inside the engine compartment, the vacumn advance on the distributor is unhooked, along with multiple other vac lines, but the engine still runs fairly strongly, and these lines also have almost no pull.
5. So why aren't my Vacumn lines vacumning?
Old 03-01-2009, 05:56 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Some answers

1 & 2. All 4000 quattro's had the differential locks standard. The 4000's and Coupe GT's had the 3 analog gauges standard. Some Coupe GT's came with "electronic" volt and oil temp gauges, basically the 4kq differential lock panel minus the differential lock ****. I do not know if the electronic gauges in the Coupe GT were an option, or only certain years got them.