seriously considering buying a car from out of state. need help>>>

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2007, 03:29 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default seriously considering buying a car from out of state. need help>>>

The car is in Indiana and I'm an Ohio resident. I'm trying to find out how to get the car back. I know I want to drive it but the plates (if it's registered) need to be removed at the point of sale.

to get temporary tags i need to be in the process of getting ohio plates.
to get ohio plates i need an ohio title.
to get an ohio title i need the car inspected in ohio.

how do i get this thing back here? i was told in passing by a friend that you can get temporary tags from any AAA for the purpose of driving an unregistered car.
Old 12-04-2007, 03:43 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Yep, your state should have "in-transit" tags for that very purpose.

Or try to sweet-talk the seller into letting you drive it home w/ the plates and then once you get it in your name, you can mail him the plate back.

When Tony bought my Petunia, he drove her from PA to Okla w/ my plates.

Best bet = call AAA if you have it. Or check your state's DOT site and see what they say.

--morgan
Old 12-04-2007, 04:12 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default I'm guessing the owner won't let you drive it home on his plates...

Thats what most people do in these parts. NJ doesn't offer temporaries for state residents when they buy a car from someone besides a dealer. They do issue them for out of state residents though.

If the seller won't let you keep the plates, see if IN will issue temp. tags. Ohio seems to have excessive bureaucracy (and fees) related to DMV stuff. People like to make fun of NJ in this department, but believe it or not we don't have this red tape to deal with when transferring out of state titles.
Old 12-04-2007, 04:20 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member