'89 200 TQ problem, it sounds like a tractor

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2004, 11:09 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '89 200 TQ problem, it sounds like a tractor

I'm looking to buy a car and went to go look at a '89 200 TQ but the engine sounds like a tractor or a diesel engine. The ticking is coming from directly underneath the turbo and it is extremely loud and then it got quieter after we took it for a short spin around the block. It has 250,xxx km's(155,xxx miles) and he wants $2000 (CDN) but I'm hoping he'll take $1500 for it. Is this the lifters? I have read posts about people adding oil additives to make them quieter. I am contemplating wether to take it to a inspection or not, as I have little mechanical knowledge. Worth getting it you guys think? Will it be expensive to fix?
Old 12-09-2004, 11:13 AM

sounds like an exhaust leak.. broken manifold? downpipe? o-ring?
Old 12-09-2004, 11:20 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default owner claims it is an exhaust leak

worth taking it in for an inspection or just simply stay away from something that has so many miles on it?
Old 12-09-2004, 11:43 AM

Default If you don't plan on doing the wrenching yourself, I'd stay away.

My car with less miles would have cost a fortune if I hadn't done all the work myself. Just in parts you will more than double the cost of the car shortly. If you can wrench, this forum will help you and it could be a great car.
Old 12-09-2004, 11:43 AM
AudiWorld Member

Default Re: There may be a crack in the exhaust manifold

Search the archives for more info. Here and at audifans.com.
Old 12-09-2004, 12:07 PM

Agreed.. if you can work on it yourself you will love it!!!
Old 12-09-2004, 12:44 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default reluctant to advise you buying this car .........