ECU programming Options for Big Turbo 20v Project

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 06:11 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ECU programming Options for Big Turbo 20v Project

I just bought a 1991 200QT 20v and I am very new to the older engine and engine management. I'm much more knowledgeable on the newer cars where everything is controlled by the ECU and tuners offer the ECU solution with the turbo kit.

I am planning to upgrade the Turbo to the 034 Motorsport Garrett GT3071 kit and I am very curious to know what other people are doing for their tuning for this type of project and for RS2 type turbo set-ups. I'm looking to be around 300hp at the wheels for now. I think 630cc injectors should be enough (???)

I have reseached enough and have good knowledge of the HARDWARE i want (Turbo, exhaust, IC, clutch, etc), but its the management part that I'm struggling to find. I've searched the archives and the net and found some things, but I am curious to know what other people are running and how its working for them. What size fuel injectors? MAF tube size? ETC.

ECU programming?
Stand alone ECU?
Ben Swann?
Intended Acceleration?
Boost controller + A/F ratio controller?
Old 02-23-2009, 06:34 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default depends how much you want control over.

if your looking for 300 whp for now, 700cc injectors will give you some leeway to play with duty cycles, as well as longevity should you decide to increase power later. the 630's will do the job, but being an electric solenoid, they dont like to be on for more then say around 80 percent of the cycle and anything over that risks getting the solenoid stuck in the on position, or total failure of the injector.