Final Drive Fluid....???

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2003, 05:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Final Drive Fluid....???

I want to replace or at least renew part of the fluid in the final drive of my Audi 100. The car is equipped with AutoTranny.

First, on which side is the drain plug? I can't see IT. Driver's or Passanger's side?

What is it close to and what does it look like? Please describe.

Once i find it and remove it, how do i measure the current level of my old fluid? What's the normal level?

Any tips for replacement and refilling?
What kind/type of fluid should i buy?

I know that these are a lot of questions but this is my first time doing this type of service. I want to do it right.

I just replaced my tranny fluid, i put some Lucas "tranny fix" too and test drove the car. Shifts smooth but i think i overfilled it a little because there is some fluid around the "vent caps".

Thanks for any advice!
Old 05-02-2003, 07:09 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Re: Final Drive Fluid....??? here's how

I've owned a few Audis and the final drive ahead of the tranny configuration creates a seal problem. Essentially, engine torque is transmitted via a shaft that goes through the differential and into the tranny. The tranny then does it's thing and turns the torque back around into the differential via a hollow shaft that is outside the first one.

This is a tricky thing to seal and eventually, 90 wt. gear oil gets into the tranny, making it smell but not hurting it significantly. Tranny fluid however is thinner than 90 wt oil and it leaks the other way and dilutes the differential lubricant. This can cause a problem and wear out the bearings. Once they start to grind, it's too late.

To prevent this, an ever-other year fluid change is a good idea. Here's how: