is this a good buy?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2006, 08:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is this a good buy?

im new to audi, my last car was a bmw 2002tii and im sick of having to pay to ge it fixed every week. is the 87 audi 5000 turbo quattro reliable? is there anything i should know before going out and buying this car? it has 75k miles on it. california car since new. rare wood trim and integrated shades, fuchs wheels new clutch.black leather interior. white paint appears good. they are asking 3500 for it.
let me know if this a good car to get.

http://pictureposter.audiworld.com/106202/ward.5k.3.jpg
Old 03-21-2006, 10:24 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: is this a good buy?

If you are willing and able to diagnose "minor" problems and perform basic maintenance it is a hell of a lot of car for the money.

If on the other hand you will have a mechanic perform all repairs/maintenance you will become suicidal. In this case I would get a Honda.

Just my opinion.
Old 03-21-2006, 11:28 PM

Default what kind of little repairs are you talking about

what kind of little repairs are you talking about. i had an old bimmer that i did all kinds of tweaks on. im just sick of dumping money into my old car
Old 03-22-2006, 03:54 AM

Default if your sick of dumping money into an old car

then I would not suggest any old audi , regardless of mileage you will spend time and money fixing it. Great cars just a pita at times and pricey on parts.
Old 03-22-2006, 04:22 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default That depends...

Have they got maintenance records? There are certain things you can bank on replacing. At $3500 it had better have all been done. Even with low mileage things do age while sitting. Has it been driven regularly?

Within the first 2 years I think you can count on:
Alternator
Starter
Multifunction Temperature Sensor
Crank reference Sensor
RPM sensor
Fuel pump
Possibly a distributor