Missing/cutting out on high boost 91 200 20vt

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2009, 02:55 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Missing/cutting out on high boost 91 200 20vt

Well I've been haveing an intermitant problem with my 200 20vt for a few months now..... getting the RPM sensor code.
Whats happening is the car is missing/cutting out on heavy boost.... sometimes... not all the time mind you. Me & Austin have swapped out the sensor (RPM sensor) four times now with used within spec ones we have laying around.
We have tried variouse things...but to no avail. So since I do not wanna toss $$$ @ the car for no reason I wanted to know what others think.
& yes I have the rite dizzy rotor! Plugs are 7A NGK's. We/Austin did pull one of the plugs & the electrode looked out of round... more like a triangle now. I was planning on maybe trying the Bosch plugs..... but I don't wanna toss that kinda $$$ for plugs if thats nmot the problem. I had a few bad plug wires... but we replaced them with known good ones back when I took the car to the dyno that made 220whp & 311ft lbs of torque with no missing... as I mentioned it's intermitant.
The cars all so got a new 710N valve, the old 3B WGFV works/clicks durring the output tests. I even put a //scar one in with no change. All the hoses are tight... we did a pressure test. WG diaphragm is good, I have a metal geared dizzy. The TPS works as it should, we/Austin took the TB off & cleaned it & adjusted the switch @ the same time.

The only code were getting is for the RPM sensor. Should I just belley up & buy a new one, or?????
Old 03-02-2009, 05:05 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Re: Missing/cutting out on high boost 91 200 20vt

Talk to BING on JFR, he was having the same issue on his S4 under high boost. I'm pretty sure it was the coil or plugs couldn't keep up at that pressure.
Old 03-02-2009, 07:24 PM

Default I was also going to suggest coils but the 200 20v does not have coils.