Seized brakes, cheapest solution?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2010, 11:10 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seized brakes, cheapest solution?

Good afternoon AW

I am a student and have a 200q20v which I used as a daily driver through high school a couple years ago. Since I moved away it has been parked for 2 years, and I believe the brakes are seized. This is the only issue I know of making it not roadworthy. What would the cheapest solution be to get this car back on the road? I really miss driving it, and seeing it parked on my driveway every day makes me sad it isn't being used.

A while ago I was considering the G60 mod (it still has UFO brakes on it), but never went through with that just because it was pretty expensive and that would mean having to get new wheels. I still have the stock BBS alloys; a set for both summer and winter tires, and they both have plenty of tread left so I wouldn't want to get rid of those just for the brakes.

I was considering buying a parts car that still had good brakes, but I wanted opinions first. The rest of the car is solid except for the suspension, but that doesn't make it un-drivable.

Let me know your thoughts.
Old 05-14-2010, 11:55 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

The *cheapest* solutoin would be to replace the UFO's, with UFO's. Even if you got used rotors from someone here, or try Force 5 Automotive (or even new).

The G60 Conversion is going to set you back about the same $$ ($300 or so); G60's WILL fit under the sotck BBS wheels.

Then you can get into some additonal $$, by going to a BBK using the existing UFO housings, bu tthen you're into between $800 and $1000 - not to mention; yes you will need new wheels and tires..

Where's the car located?
Old 05-14-2010, 02:40 PM
Audiworld Junior Member