So it broke. But is there any way to find out WHY it broke?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2008, 06:02 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So it broke. But is there any way to find out WHY it broke?

I'll keep this question brief as I can.

Clutch pedal snapped last night. A low battery (accidentally left an interior light on for several hours) forced me to "bump-start" the car in 2nd gear by rolling down a hill and popping the clutch. Started fine (sadly, I can admit I'm an old pro at bump-starting!), but the first time I hit the clutch pedal AFTER starting the car the pedal snapped where they all fail (from what I've read online) - at the "ear" connecting the pedal to the MC rod.

Is there any way to tell where the underlying cause of the failure lies? As I see it, the following are possibilities:

1. Weakened/fatigued clutch pedal alloy
2. Misalignment of pedal pivot shaft (the upper bushing looks to have cracks in it)
3. MC failed
4. SC failed
5. Clutch pressure plate failed

No hint of clutch problems (increased pressure, chatter, strange noises, etc.) were evident prior to this. Afterward, I started it in first and drove back to the garage with no problems (other than I had no clutch, of course). Love this reliable old POS and would like to keep it around. Looking for simple, straightforward solutions/suggestions to accomplish that.

Appreciate your wisdom and input, and thanks in advance for both.
Shaun
Current: 1989 200qa
Formers: 1986 4kcsq, 1986 GT CS, 1986 Vanagon
Old 01-10-2008, 06:33 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The clevis was the issue on my 4kq. Broke after replacement of the clutch master.
Old 01-10-2008, 07:36 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts
Default BTDT last week.

The failure is due to the poor casting of pot metal. See link replacement = not fun. I also replaced the clutch master and slave cylinders.