Caveat Emptor. (long)

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2009, 08:54 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Caveat Emptor. (long)

Latin for (roughly) "Let the buyer beware."

I have been doing business on the internet for over ten years, both with private parties and companies. I can honestly say that well over 99% of those transactions have gone well.

But lately, I have been having problems, especially with Audi-related purchases from both Audiworld members and Audifans list members. A recent one involved some B3 parts.

Over a month ago, I e-mailed a guy about some various stuff he had listed FS. Included was some headlamps, taillight lenses, clear corners, 7A TB and 7A MAF. Also included was a complete intake system up to the MAF.

Well, at the time, I needed the MAF and the drivers headlamp. My headlamp had a big crack, so it was time to replace it. Also, I have the self-diagnosed MAF failure coming on - the one where if you go to higher RPM, the car cuts out randomly, then randomly fixes itself. According to the staff at STFA, that sounds like a MAF going south. (Please correct me if I'm wrong on this - thanks.)

The other stuff I didn't need at all, but hey, I figured it like this: I save the guy some hassle in boxing, shipping and getting payment from several different people, and he cuts me a deal on the whole mess so that we both end up happy. He quoted me, at first, $260, shipped for the whole mess of stuff. Well, OK, that's not too bad of a price to pay for a set of headlamps and a MAF, and the rest of the stuff I can hang onto, or trade at me later date. Hell, knowing me, I'd give it away if someone asked nicely.