Change the coolant temp sensor?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2005, 12:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Change the coolant temp sensor?

I've read a lot of posts on this issue so I have a resonable idea as to what the problem could be. But, being a novice, I'd like your opinions...

The engine coolant temperature (ECT) guage has been showing really low readings that last few days. It is below freezing where I stay, but the ECT guage shows almost min (as in close to zero!) on the highway and a little above min in the city. Once in a while, I also get a check light which goes away if I stop the car for a short time. I got the diagnosis code as 2312 (ECT Sensor). But I haven't been able to replace the sensor as yet since I had to make a trip over Thanksgiving (600 miles). All liquid levels seem fine. So, in all probability a new coolant temp sensor should fix this check light.

On the trip, I noticed that I got around 26.5 mpg with 91/93 oct fuel. I'd been using 87 oct fuel prior to this as I didn't know any better. But, curiously, my fuel consumption has remained unchanged. I'd assumed, based on some posts here, that I'd notice some increase in mpg with the proper fuel. Was my assumption incorrect, and if not, is there something I could do to get the expected boost?

My trip back is on Thursday (another 600 miles). I hope I'm not running rich because the ECU thinks I'm running cold (because of the faulty sensor). The car feels perfectly normal to drive. Do I need to worry about my cats getting affected on the return trip? Must I replace the ECT sensor before I start back?

Thanks for your time,
Junaid
Old 11-30-2005, 03:43 AM
Head Cat Herder

Received 85 Likes on 48 Posts
Default Let the MIL come on, and stay on.. that should put it in closed loop...

so it will disregard the coolant temp sensor.

How is your heat? How about the guage?
Old 11-30-2005, 07:05 AM

Default Sounds like thermostat is stuck open