Intermittent stalling continues... already cleaned ISV!

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2003, 11:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intermittent stalling continues... already cleaned ISV!

Hey guys (and gals)...

I'm new to this post but recently have found it VERY helpful in troubleshooting some ongoing problems in my car (1995 Audi 90). For some time, despite some major work performed on it recently, problems with running rich and stalling persisted. My father has worked on these cars for over 25 years and even he is becoming baffled.. we're thinking at this point it's got to be electrical.

The scope of the 'major work' performed is hard for me to communicate in every detail, but basically they did a valve job, air conditioning work, checked many possible vacuum leak areas, replaced hoses, etc., etc. They replaced the 02 Sensor.

Taking a cue from this message board, I suggested we clean the ISV and that seemed to fix the stalling problem for some time - I was so ecstatic! But the car started stalling intermitently again about 2 months after the cleaning (The check engine light/running rich problem did seem to be fixed permanently by the ISV cleaning though). He also tested the ISV before he put it back on.

I love my little car, but I'm weary of spending yet more money to have the problem persist... and I don't even pay full price!!! (I get special rates and Dad's shop!)

Any ideas would be much appreciated!
Thanx!

Amy
Old 01-05-2003, 11:27 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Re: Intermittent stalling continues... already cleaned ISV!

I think that your ISV may be going bad, sometimes when they are starting to go south a good cleaning helps to revive them for a little while. I really, really dought it got dirty and carboned up in a two month time frame! Try testing the ISV by using the Bently cd if you have it. The crankcase brether hoses can lean or richen a bank on the engine, not enough to stall it though.
Old 01-05-2003, 11:30 AM
AudiWorld Super User