"New" Audi 80 rough at idle

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2012, 04:24 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "New" Audi 80 rough at idle

Hey guys, I am new to the world of trying to maintain my own car (more then just oil, tyres and brakes at least) and have just gotten myself a gorgeous Audio 80 2.0e manual with a dirty old ABT motor.
The previous owner had a mechanic for a dad and the amount of butchered parts and half done fixes is going to make this fun to do (every time i look i find something new)!
But enough about that..

On to my first problem, the car idles at a very low RPM, and the warmer it gets the lower the RPM. When cold i get idle at 1k roughly and all is well, as it warms up it drops off to the point where i need to give it gas to stop it stalling at the lights. From what i have gathered from the forum their are a lot of things that can influence this and i am having the odd case of sudden deceleration while attempting to accelerate which matches up to the Relay 30 issue (assuming this isn't ABK motors only).
Regardless of this i have found that one spark plug has snapped off at the lead end and the fuse for the "lambda probe heater" has been removed, i am on my way to get a new set of sparks all round and a new lead for the damaged one but before i replace the 10A fuse for the lambda probe heater i wanted to see if there is an obscure reason why anyone would remove this? Also thoughts on whether i should replace all the leads or just the damaged one?

Sorry about the train of thought rant!

Cheers

john
Old 10-28-2012, 09:30 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Oh i don't think it's the spark, just tried running it with the lead removed and its a whole new ball game... Must have been still making a connection, at least some of the time, its way worse with that off.
Now i just need to wait for the new sparks to come in and find me a new lead
Old 10-29-2012, 03:52 PM
AudiWorld Member