retro audi 80 sport

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2010, 04:27 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default retro audi 80 sport

hello all this is my first post as im new to audis.this being my first one.
ive had loads of bmws,and mercs.i bought this audi as a stop gap .
while my mercedes 190e was out of action.and to be honest.i like the car so much.ive decided to keep it.its a 2.0 sport manual.here it is.

being a complete noob.i have a few qwestions im hoping you guys can help arnser.

1,the car has a loud rumberling noise.which the last owner said is the spax shocks.which have gone.would front shocks cause this noise?.

2.i have a "zero g" front bumper for it.but i think it masy be for the newer shape 80.(with the grill in the bonnet)
will this fit??.

3.whats the model name for this car(...e.g. a mercedes 190e is a w201.)

thanks in advance guys.rickie.
Old 10-25-2010, 08:16 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default It's officially called an "80"...

As you have written, an 80 sport. Very nice, probaly rare? What year is it?!

1.) It has the famous terminal rumberling(?) so you could inspect the front suspension if you also sense that the noise(?) is coming from that direction. Is there vibration?

As dampers are usually silent until they are leaked dry and self-destructing, this issue could be many things, here's a few:
- the top-mounts for the struts;
- the mounting of the dampers in the struts;
- the sway bar links or
- the springs on their perches.

All the above are well-known issues. There are lots more, however can you better define "rumberling" and when it occurs?

2.) Yes, I think it will fit. I would have loved to be able to say it will never work and as I have the requisite pig-snout hood, and it is completely worthless to you, you should sell it to me; cheap. So perhaps I am wrong?

Last edited by Lago Blue; 10-25-2010 at 09:14 AM.
Old 10-26-2010, 12:50 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

the name for your module is audi 80 B3