Seafoam or decarbon technique from my own experence

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2010, 09:17 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seafoam or decarbon technique from my own experence

I'm cutting and pasting this from a BMW forum I'm on but rest assured, I've been wrenching on the 4 circles for over two decades and owned many.

You first need the following; time, energy, resources.

If you have all 3, do this;
-get the car somewhere that will allow you to leave it in place for 3 days, be able to change the oil in place and also create clouds of smoke that would make anyone with a brain to call 911.
-With the motor warmed up, send the seafoam into the running motor via a misting squrt bottle into the AFM (remove the air filter and housing) with one hand on throttle linkage to prevent stalling. Mist it in as fast as possible in conjuction with feathering the throttle as needed to keep it from stalling. (this mist with a plant sprayer method over the vacume line eliminates uneven distribution over the six cylinders). All kinds of nastyness will be billowing out your tail pipes, that's normal, keep your game face on and run about two bottles worth (14oz), when about out of product, spray as fast as you can to flood the intake mix while not being so active with the throttle. When almost out of seafoam, stay off the throttle and let it stall.
-remove the spark plugs and literly pour more seafoam into the cylinders, enough to soak or submerge the entire piston, what we are triying to do in this step is to let the seafoam soak the carbon from the piston tops but also and more importanty in your oil loss case, slowly seep past all of the rings, ending up in your oil (hence the oil change needed before you restart).