Audi A3 / S3 / RS 3 Discussion forum for the 8L and 8P Audi A3 S3 and RS3
Sponsored by: Audi Online Parts

A3 2.0 Aftermarket Xenons....advice?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2006, 07:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A3 2.0 Aftermarket Xenons....advice?

Hi Guys, newbie here, and just got a fully loaded a3 2.0T, sans Xenon lights. I installed a kit from ebay, and even bought the "Resistor Packs". Low beams work fine, but there is fluttering when I try to use the high beams. Can anyone here with a working aftermarket xenon setup tell me what they bought? Much much thanks in advance.

PS: I searched old threads here, but didn't really find any concrete info about it.
Old 02-07-2006, 08:29 PM
AudiWorld Super User

what HID kit did you install?
Old 02-07-2006, 08:32 PM

Default Re: what HID kit did you install?

I bought it from www.proxenon.com, and even bought the hella resistor pack to fix the circuit problems. I wonder what else better there is out there.....
Old 02-07-2006, 08:47 PM
SCJ
AudiWorld Member

The real ones!
Old 02-07-2006, 09:39 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Is there auto leveling with that kit?
Old 02-07-2006, 09:47 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default Did your setup come with a relay?

I can't remember the exact setup, but the kit I had for my A4 had a relay which triggered when the headlight switch was on.

The igniter drew power directly from the battery and not from the original wiring meant for the halogen. This might give you stable power.

Make sure that the fluttering is not just on one side, it might be a bad ballast. I haven't really kept up with the changes in xenon lighting but a couple of years ago only Philips and Hella were Audi OEM ballast manufacturers.
Old 02-07-2006, 10:01 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default xTec works great

I bought and installed the xTec kit and it works perfect. It plugs directly into the existing wiring so there is no need for separate wiring to the battery, extra resistor, or anything else.