Audi A3 / S3 / RS 3 Discussion forum for the 8L and 8P Audi A3 S3 and RS3
Sponsored by: Audi Online Parts
Old 08-09-2016, 11:21 AM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Audi A3 Steering & Suspension Guides
Print Wikipost

Contemplating A3 to replace WRX wagon, and auto-X question

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 06:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Contemplating A3 to replace WRX wagon, and auto-X question

Hi all, noob here!

I have a 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX wagon, and I'm contemplating replacing it. So far on the list are the Subaru Legacy GT Limited and the Audi A3q when it becomes available. I know these are quite different animals, and both different than my WRX.

The WRX is my year 'round daily driver, except maybe 500-1000 miles a year in the MG. I'm in northern Ohio, so I have some snow and ice to contend with. I'm a "spirited" driver, and autocross 6-10 times a year locally in the SCCA STX class.

My WRX is slightly modified for power (maybe 260HP vs. stock 225) and moderately modified for handling. Appearance-wise, it is a subtle sleeper.

I have driven the Legacy. A Pittsburgh dealer had some at the Subaru Challenge last fall for us to wail on around the autocross course. Automatics, unfortunately. Then I tested a manual locally, and found it in stock form to be bigger and heavier than my WRX, with more body roll and understeer. (Well, no kidding!) The torque from the extra 1/2 liter of engine, though, is nice to have on hand! STi springs, larger adjustable sway bar, and a short shifer would make a good start to bring a Legacy into a fun handling car. However, because of its size and heft, it loses that "tossability" factor, as the magazines like to say about nimble cars, that the WRX has. All in all, I think that if I didn't already have the WRX when I tested the LGT, I'd probably own one now.