Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B9) Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet 2018 model year and up

B8.5 S4 to B9 RS5?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2020, 04:32 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default B8.5 S4 to B9 RS5?

Hey everyone,

I've been eyeing a RS5 for a couple years now and am starting to really feel the itch to go ahead and get one. I recently test drove a used 2019 RS5 SB. I really enjoyed most things about the car, but there's just one big thing I can't seem to understand. The throttle response doesn't seem as good as in my S4.

I obviously knew to put the car in Dynamic mode so I get the most aggression. Of course the car is fast, but I didn't really feel getting pushed back in my seat unless I really pushed down on the throttle. Compared to my S4 in Dynamic, it felt like the throttle response was not as good until I really pushed it and that's when I really felt the torque hit.

Has anyone else noticed this or have any comments coming from the B8 gen of the "S" cars? I almost want to blame it on the fact that the car is used (6k odometer) and maybe something happened to it (Carfax was clean though)
Old 10-15-2020, 06:27 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 501 Likes on 319 Posts

Originally Posted by cruz02148
Hey everyone,

I've been eyeing a RS5 for a couple years now and am starting to really feel the itch to go ahead and get one. I recently test drove a used 2019 RS5 SB. I really enjoyed most things about the car, but there's just one big thing I can't seem to understand. The throttle response doesn't seem as good as in my S4.

I obviously knew to put the car in Dynamic mode so I get the most aggression. Of course the car is fast, but I didn't really feel getting pushed back in my seat unless I really pushed down on the throttle. Compared to my S4 in Dynamic, it felt like the throttle response was not as good until I really pushed it and that's when I really felt the torque hit.