Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

Bridgestone RE960AS vs. ContiExtreme DWS vs Yokahama

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2011, 01:19 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bridgestone RE960AS vs. ContiExtreme DWS vs Yokahama

Hi ar fans,

I have an "04 4.2 ar with HSports bars front and rear. My ar has 105k miles and I've had it since new. This is my second allroad. I originally had an 01' 2.7 with stock Pirelli tires. I am a spirited city driver.

Over the years I trended towards Michelin Pilot Sport A/S because they were rated so well and they handled great. But after my third set (currently about 15k miles on them) they once again are showing signs of extreme wear. Side wall tread coming off in chunks is mostly the problem. This has happened with all 3 sets of tires.

I am now at a new indy shop, and they've had lots of experience with ar's and other performance awd vehicles that are heavy. Their recommendation is to go with the Bridgestone RE960AS or the Continental Extreme Contact DWS. While they like the Michelin Pilot Sport A/S, they feel that it's too soft a tire for such a heavy vehicle as the ar - and for as spirited a drive as I am.

Thought I'd seek out your thoughts on this topic here. Replies requested.

GMcB in Seattle
Old 11-09-2011, 01:49 PM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by GMcB in Seattle
Hi ar fans,

I have an "04 4.2 ar with HSports bars front and rear. My ar has 105k miles and I've had it since new. This is my second allroad. I originally had an 01' 2.7 with stock Pirelli tires. I am a spirited city driver.

Over the years I trended towards Michelin Pilot Sport A/S because they were rated so well and they handled great. But after my third set (currently about 15k miles on them) they once again are showing signs of extreme wear. Side wall tread coming off in chunks is mostly the problem. This has happened with all 3 sets of tires.