Notices
Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

Just bought - need help/clarification

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2013, 04:53 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Just bought - need help/clarification

Just bought this 05 allroad for a reasonable price with 56K miles on motor. Although not perfect, I'm planning on using this car for the next 3 years at least. I'm new to the Audi world and from what I read, I expect to keep aside some $ for maintenance. However, I'm planning on doing some maintenance (e.g., oil change) by myself.

Q1: I have a shot of the engine oil filler (with cap removed) and this is what I see.

Is what I see normal for 56K miles engine? I do see some thin dark brown crust on the high side of the plate visible immediately once the cap is open. Haven't done any oil change before. Does this raise any flags?

Q2: I'm trying to buy oil change kits online and currently I'm looking at the ones from Blauparts (they are selling Ravenol - not much info in the internet) and europarts.com (Liqui Moly, Pento, etc). Any recommendations? I'd prefer to buy oil locally from Advanced Auto or Autozone, however, not sure whether I will get the RIGHT oil filter or drain plug bolt. Do you recommend that I buy these kits online or should I buy from local stores? Appreciate recommendations.

Thank you all for the time/
Old 08-21-2013, 07:28 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What are your objectives for this car?....

Daily driver? stock or mod, etc? Tell us this and suggested budgets will follow.
ByTheWay: Messiah College grad here. I just spent a Friday might at Williams Grove (living in Cincinnati).
Old 08-21-2013, 07:38 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default I do not purchase anything from Blau...