Notices
Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

Neo iOn Install (long)

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2005, 04:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Neo iOn Install (long)

Just got my Neo iOn installed. I'm a tech junkie but a mechanical weenie, and I didn't want to buy the special stereo removal keys (4 required) just to install this one time (hopefully). So I turned to an installer I know through my boat dealer who does cars too. 45-min, $50.

Sorry, no photos, but I'll try to describe the steps and experience.

I have an '05 Symphony II w/Bose 6-CD in-dash changer and XM. Satellite not activated.

Total with an extra required Audi harness and shipping just over $200. Customer service at Neo was great - both phone and FAST e-mail response. Don't be afraid to ask Qs.

There's a pretty simple matching tool for make, model and year on the web site. (Link below)

The web site suggests that you can hook up either directly on the back of the head unit, or via the changer connections in the back of the car. I was told that this was not possible with my CD changer head unit, that hook-up would have to be up front. Not a problem as I figured it's a shorter, easier wire run from front.

4 pieces came with the order:

- Square box that is the "brain" of the system. DIP switches are easily set depending on OEM radio.

- Long (3.5M) connection cord from the brain to the iPod.

- Connector from brain to head unit ("adapter").

- Special Audi "harness."

Unit arrived without install instructions. Got an apology and an e-mail back with a .pdf within an hour. The install instructions had very limited info beyond the DIP switch positions and grounding instructions (both ground wires must be used). Hook-up appeared to be fairly intuitive with the exception of the extra Audi harness.

The adapter clearly plugs into one side of the brain. It then terminates in a small square plug with a number of sockets and 2 separate ground wires.