Using car despite air suspension leak

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2014, 04:17 AM
Mzg
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Using car despite air suspension leak

Hi,

My '02 allroad with 190'km (ca 120' miles) on it has developed a fairly slow air leak, causing the driver's side rear to sag after leaving it overnight.

I was therefore wondering whether or not I should leave the car parked as much as possible until I can get this fixed, or if I could continue using it? Will the air compressor go bad really quick if I keep using it in this state?

I am considering changing to Arnott bags in the rear, if it turns out the bag itself is leaking.
Old 09-13-2014, 06:00 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I'll give it a shot, although a newbie here myself. My friend who runs the Euro service business told me under the exact same circumstances that I should do the repair and he ordered me Arnott's for the front, both sides. He always does bot sides rather than just one.

He told me constant running of the compressor will kill the compressor.
Old 09-13-2014, 07:54 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The compressor cannot run "constantly", because it has an overheat sensor that shuts it off every couple of minutes. That said, using the compressor more than the original system design calls for (such as with even slowly leaking airbags), can reduce compressor life and also stress the suspension control module, which is another pricey part of the system.
Old 09-13-2014, 11:11 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

This isn't going to be one of those forums I hope. So I could better understand the system, my friend sent me a link to Blauparts that explained one of the common pneumatic adjustable suspension issues was "Allroad air suspension compressor continuously running"

Maybe you could drop them a note to clarify their mistake, I simply related what I was told trying to help the guy.
Old 09-14-2014, 03:47 AM
Mzg
AudiWorld Newcomer