Audi Original "S" Cars Discussion forum for the Audi Audi Ur S4, Ur S6, S2 & RS2

Reasoning why AAN sparkplugs can come loose

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2007, 10:04 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Reasoning why AAN sparkplugs can come loose

This post was made by Jeff Gerner on Audifans in response to my AAN sparkplug ejection thread:

"Hello guys - this is my first EVER post on this site so I am "breaking my cherry" in order to shed some light on this sparkplug debate. I am a lifelong auto tech and engine builder as well as the owner of a very fast 94 S4 that I have "done all the work on" etc. I am no kid either at 54 years.

Anyway, on to the subject; Rule # 1. Properly tightened - notice I did not say torqued - spark plugs, just like properly tightened wheel lug nuts / studs, don't come out. Period!

The spark plug loosening problem happens for two reasons; First is the highly dissimilar "growth rate" of aluminum vs. steel / iron as in the cylinder head spark plug interface - the aluminum cyl head grows or swells more in dimension (under extreme heat) than does the spark plug shell. This
causes "cyclic working" of this joint between plug and head as the engine cycles repeatedly from cold to very hot. This problem is exacerbated by the rather extreme cylinder pressures and temperatures associated with high
boost engines.

The second and most causation related factor is that the factory listed torque value for the spark plugs is insufficient. The reason it is
insufficient is the relative disparity in the "crush load" requirement of the spark plug sealing rings. In other words the factory specified spark plug torque rating is insufficient to uniformly and consistently crush the little soft metal rings that seal the spark plug. (Remember the cyclic
working of this joint)