Audio, Video and Security Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car Audio Re-vamp 2006 A4 S-line w/ Symphony system. Where to start??

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2006, 12:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car Audio Re-vamp 2006 A4 S-line w/ Symphony system. Where to start??

I purchased a 2006 A4 (B7) S-line this summer. It's my second A4 but I am extremely dissappointed with the stock stereo system in this one. I have a lot of experience in car audio but none with Audis. I want to keep my original head unit. Where do I begin on finding the wiring scheme, if and where there is a factory amp, as well as the proper removal techniques for accessing all the components and where I can obtain the proper harnesses. I am capable of designing a new system, I just need help finding info on the current system. (What size speakers, are the crossovers part of the head unit or an external amp, etc.) I am located just outside of Boston if there is anyone local who has a lot of knowledge on the subject that I could be refered to. Any information or direction would be appreciated.
Old 09-18-2006, 02:54 PM

Default Bose or not? Which HU?

If Bose, you have a factory amp running everything.

If non-Bose, you have deck power running the fronts and an amp that runs the rears and the sub.

All equalization is in the amp with the Bose systems, and is in the HU on the non-Bose systems, but per the wiring diagrams you can ground the Bose pin on the back of the HU and then the HU output is flat and non-equalized except for a hint of auto-loudness.

You can cut into the wires to get preamp outputs and connect RCA cables to the wires, you can get TeddyBGame here on the board to make an adapter harness with RCAs, or you can make one yourself.