Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Jam Traffic assist with ACC speed limit

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2022, 12:53 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Jam Traffic assist with ACC speed limit

Hello everyone. I am new to this form and have a question for you. I recently purchased a Prestige package SQ5, and the traffic jam assist is controlled to speed no more than 40 mph. Is there any coding for this solution so the limit can be raised to 60-70 mph. I really appreciate any recommendation or solution. Thank you
Nick
Old 07-22-2022, 03:01 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

I just got a little more info on what I need. I am looking for long coding for VCDS on the Traffic jam assist and lane departure. Want to raise the speed limit that disables the system at 40 mph. I would like to increase the limit to 60-70 mph
Old 07-22-2022, 08:12 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,070 Likes on 744 Posts

As far as I know that's by design and can't be increased. As the name suggests, it's a traffic jam assist, not active steering assist at higher speeds. It's a matter of processing power and sensors. Higher speed active steering requires more processing power and better sensors, particularly stereo cameras for depth perception. The SQ5 has a single forward looking camera as far as I know, which is enough for lane keeping, but not full active steering at higher speeds. TJA reverts to lane keep assist above 40 mph (actually 37 mph to be exact). It still somewhat keeps the car centered if set to "Early" in the settings, but it will only follow the lane markers. Below 40 mph TJA takes other cars into consideration using the parking sensors as an additional help. At higher speeds the parking sensors are not a viable input, so the system would need stereo cameras so it can view in 3D and not just 2D. My Mercedes-AMG has active steering assist that works up to something like 120 mph. It has stereo cameras in the windshield that makes this possible.