Audio, Video and Security Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PG amp arrived today. Now I am REALLY confused !

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2000, 07:54 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default PG amp arrived today. Now I am REALLY confused !

My new Phoenix Gold XS 4600 amplifier arrived today. (Soundhabit.com is awesome!)
This is one impressive looking amp!
(And all of my home-audio audiophile friends agree that PG is awesome too.)
THe PG 4600 is 75w x 4.

Since I am still very new to car audio, I thought I would do something out of the ordinary, and actually read the owners manual. (Especially since I plan to install it myself, which should be pretty easy since all the wires are in place from the previous amp.)

Question # 1 -- what is the recommended fuse size?
The amp has 2 30A fuses, and the manual says that the max current draw is 55A. So can I get away with putting a 60A fuse inline at the battery?

Question # 2 -- Can I even still use the previous power wires ? My ADS amp was 40w X 4. The inline fuse was 30A. And the power & ground wires are dual conductor 12 gauge twisted together, for a total gauge of approximately 8 gauge. Is that sufficient for the PG amp ?
Or should I run larger power & ground cables ?

Question # 3 -- What's with the crossovers ?!?!
They are not adjustable. Well the literature says that they are, but there's no front panel adjustment for the crossover frequency.
I read the manual cover to cover, in English and in French (although I don't understand French) and it appears that the only way to adjust the crossover frequency is to open up the unit and rebuild the resistor networks.
I guess that's better for "audiophile quality" sound, but it makes tweaking a real pain in the a$$.