Auto Detailing Discussion Discussion forum for the in's and out's of properly detailing your ride

clay bars

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2001, 04:07 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default clay bars

I have never used clay before, but would like to learn more. Besides moving surface contaminants and paints, is clay good also for removing surface scratches/scuffs from the clear coat. What's a good brand of clay to buy, and where to get it (on www?). I have used Formula 7 liquid polishing compound with good success on body panels for a long time. But it does not seem to be terrible effectively in moving surface scuffs
from plastic parts like bumper covers. Would appreciate advice. Thanks.
Old 07-30-2001, 04:21 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Well ..

Clay is really effective in removing the contaminants from your paint's surface. After using clay, your paint's surface will be as smooth as glass. A quality glaze/polish/swirl remover is best used for minor swirls/scratches. Alot of Audi people (including me) use 3M glaze. Griotsgarage, Zainobros.com sell clay bars. I would suggest reading several detail articles, BEFORE you use the clay - not AFTER. Try carcareonline, automotivedetailing. autopia for reference information, regarding clay bars.
Use ALOT/ALWAYS/CONSTANT lubrication, when using a clay bar. I use a towel, full of soapy water, running all over the area i'm claying. Use light pressure, when claying. Just do a couple of quick wipes with the clay bar and move on to the next area. After awhile, kneed the clay bar and use a different part of it. If you drop the clay bar - THROW IT OUT/DO NOT USE IT AGAIN. Hope this helps ..

Al ..
Old 07-30-2001, 04:37 PM

Default Re: clay bars