Auto Detailing Discussion Discussion forum for the in's and out's of properly detailing your ride

Paint Protection question for you EXPERTS out there....

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2002, 05:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint Protection question for you EXPERTS out there....

At work I can either park my car under trees and away from the sun or park it away from trees in the sun. Which option would be better for the paintjob?

tree option---sap and possible dings/scratches from things falling onto the car, squirrles, wind, et al.

sun---heard it causes fading of the paint and could "burn" contaminants onto the paintjob.

Car is dolphin gray, so I suppose it's in the middle of the spectrum in terms of heat absorbtion...thanks for any help
Old 04-04-2002, 06:29 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Re: I'm not an expert but have been browsing this and other detailing sites a fair bit. If . . .

your faithfully washing and waxing I don't think that you should have a problem with contaminates (sun or shade) etching your paint.

My preference, when possible, is to park in the shade. You probably know this allready, but Bird droppings should cleaned up ASAP. Be carful as they very abraisive. I guess thats an arguement for not parking under trees.
Old 04-04-2002, 08:55 AM
RKA
AudiWorld Uber User

Default Shade is better, however, birds like shade too. Personally, I don't like cleaning up after birds.

so I leave it in the sun.
Old 04-04-2002, 09:27 AM
AudiWorld Uber User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I'd pick the sun.