Auto Detailing Discussion Discussion forum for the in's and out's of properly detailing your ride

Are there any issues with Rain-X on windsheilds after having used a Claybar on it?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2003, 01:01 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Are there any issues with Rain-X on windsheilds after having used a Claybar on it?
Old 03-28-2003, 02:06 PM

Default No, Just don't over do the rain X . A little is good............

A lot is NOT better. I have used it since it came out in the mid 70's or so.
Old 03-28-2003, 02:25 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Thanks, I've used Rain-x for 3-4 years but I'm new to the claybar, I just picked...

up the 3m one today.

I also got this sample product called Aquapel, it's like rain-x, but they claimed it lasts 3-4 times longer and that it's water repelling properties were better to.

I might apply it this weekend, if so, I'll report back.<ul><li><a href="http://www.ppgautoglass.com/aquapel/aquapel.htm">Aquapel</a></li></ul>
Old 03-28-2003, 03:14 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default I've never used rain-x, but my windshield sheds rain like mad. Clay should be sufficient and

won't have the disadvantages of rain-x.
Old 03-28-2003, 08:01 PM
AudiWorld Uber User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default The issue is "Why?"

I guess you're a Rain-X fan. I tried it and was disappointed. Once it starts breaking down, it's worse than not having it on there it streaks so much. And as others have noted, if you use clay bar, and keep your windshield clean, the glass sheds rain very well without anything on it.
Old 03-28-2003, 08:59 PM

using their washer booster makes it last much longer
Old 03-29-2003, 06:56 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default yeah, I guess that is part of what I was wondering to..

Like I said I'm new to the claybar and am not sure how it effects the window, out side of it cleaning the contaminants off. I didn't know if it shared any of the water repelancy characteristics of rain-x.