New Member Welcome Area We've gathered the info you need if you are new to the AudiWorld forums

Possible Really Cheap Solution For CVT Problem.

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2015, 11:50 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possible Really Cheap Solution For CVT Problem.

2003 Audi A4 1.8T Cabriolet. Tiptronic
I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT THIS WORKAROUND SEEMS TO BE WORKING FOR ME.
I’ve probably done some ill-advised things in reaching this solution but at this has come with a fair bit of trial and error.
Not everyone will be in the position to try this.
This is long winded but please bear with me, it just might be worth it.

For those of you who want the short version, here it is!!
When you first start the car each day, place it in manual mode and drive in 1st gear keeping the RPM at 2000 or lower until the car reaches running temperature. Depending on where you live this should take a couple of minutes. Once the car has reached the running temperature it should run normally from there on.

Right for those of you who want the full background on how I came to this solution here we go. Are you sitting comfortably? Please bear with me.
I came by this solution by trial and error caused by financial constraints and unwillingness to spend $10,000 on a car I paid $8000 for.

I moved from Upstate NY to Savannah, GA 7 months ago. I drove my 2nd hand Audi (116000 on clock) down to GA from NY without any problems. For at least 2 months she ran fine, then I started to notice a slight lunge as she first shifted when pulling away from a stop. Then after a while she would occasionally lose power when accelerating into a turn and eventually she started dropping out of gear and would go into LIMP mode.