Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

2011 Q5 2.0T transmission at 1266 miles

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2011, 03:27 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2011 Q5 2.0T transmission at 1266 miles

Newbie here and first post so let me know if I do this incorrectly.

At two and one-half weeks the beautiful new Q5 would not allow reverse and produced a "transmission gearbox malfunction". AudiCare towed the vehicle back and provided a loaner. Service stated it was a "module malfunction" and the module was being shipped. Major bummer as we really like the vehicle. I know things happen but not what I expected in quality from the brand. So far they handling this ok with a Q5 loaner (3.2 S-Line) but I hope this fix is the last on the tranny.

Bummed out in Ohio

Prem+ 2.0T Deep Sea Blue/Cinnamon B&O/MMI
Old 07-03-2011, 03:35 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by bigak
Newbie here and first post so let me know if I do this incorrectly.

At two and one-half weeks the beautiful new Q5 would not allow reverse and produced a "transmission gearbox malfunction". AudiCare towed the vehicle back and provided a loaner. Service stated it was a "module malfunction" and the module was being shipped. Major bummer as we really like the vehicle. I know things happen but not what I expected in quality from the brand. So far they handling this ok with a Q5 loaner (3.2 S-Line) but I hope this fix is the last on the tranny.

Bummed out in Ohio

Prem+ 2.0T Deep Sea Blue/Cinnamon B&O/MMI
Sorry about your trouble and welcome to the AudiWorld.
Check out if your state has lemon law.
I think you handle this good - I saw many post when user start screaming WTF - my 50K car!!!
Just stay calm and let your dealer take care of this issue. Make a copy and documented every phone call, conversation etc. If, god forbid, you need to go to court - you have proof on your hands.