Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

2012 Q5 - remote start with OEM key?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2020, 01:36 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Q5 - remote start with OEM key?

Hi all,

I've been searching the net trying to find out what I need to enable remote start on a 2.0 petrol 2012 Audi Q5. It's got the keyfob slot next to the wheel, you push the key in to start the car. In searching around I believe this is a compatible harness: ADS-THR-VW1.In addition to the harness, I need an actual remote start system / remote fob? Would anyone be able to suggest something that works well? If there's a system that has a SIM slot with an Android app to turn on the car via the phone that'd be a huge plus.

Thanks
Old 01-12-2020, 08:55 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hello, I am a Professional installer with 30 years of working for car audio companies and owning my own shop and I would recommend Idatastart Vwx series with the THR-AU2 harness. It may or may not need to use an extra key depending on the build of your vehicle but there is a plug that comes with it to test and see if you lose a key or not. I will always say get it professionally installed, not only because of what I do but because the product needs to be live flashed to the Idatalink server. It will do 3 press of the lock to start as well as I recommend a telematics device like MyCar Directed Smartstart as it use your smartphone and is really super cool to start my SQ5 from my apple watch.Hope this helps and I would be happy to answer anymore questions.
Old 01-12-2020, 12:41 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 231 Likes on 195 Posts

Originally Posted by 1Jeffersonc