Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Engine cools down peroid

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2009, 03:05 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine cools down peroid

I noticed that the engine of my Q5 is still pretty hot after I shut down the car for 2 or 3 hours when the outside temp is around 70s. Is this normal?

Thx.
Old 09-05-2009, 04:54 PM
DrV
AudiWorld Senior Member

Originally Posted by haitink
I noticed that the engine of my Q5 is still pretty hot after I shut down the car for 2 or 3 hours when the outside temp is around 70s. Is this normal?

Thx.
How long the engine block retains heat depends on a number of factors. I'm not an expert, but they include the type of metal the engine is made of (aluminum in the Q5), the weight of the engine, the surface area exposed to the surrounding air relative to the volume of the engine, ambient air temperature and wind conditions, the volume of liquids inside the engine and so on. The Q5 engine heat retention would be similar to any other engine of comparable size and weight, but definitely longer than say a 1.8L 4 cylinder engine if all other factors are equal.
Old 09-05-2009, 06:53 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by DrV
How long the engine block retains heat depends on a number of factors. I'm not an expert, but they include the type of metal the engine is made of (aluminum in the Q5), the weight of the engine, the surface area exposed to the surrounding air relative to the volume of the engine, ambient air temperature and wind conditions, the volume of liquids inside the engine and so on. The Q5 engine heat retention would be similar to any other engine of comparable size and weight, but definitely longer than say a 1.8L 4 cylinder engine if all other factors are equal.