Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

HPFP???

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2023, 03:51 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HPFP???

Good morning, I am a total forum newb, so if this is in the wrong place, please let me know. I have what appears to be an oil leak around the area of the HPFP. I notice oil stains on the passenger side, near the catalytic converter (I believe)/ exhaust. Many searches, lead me to believe the leak may be coming from the vacuum valve. Something I have not seen anything about in my searches is oil on top of the HPFP and in that area. Could this be the same leak, and oil is just somehow making its way to this area? Notice the grime and what appears to be oil around the plug, and below. I did wipe some oil from this area before taking a picture, but oil was actually covering the plug enough that it covered the part number/barcode on the plug.

Old 06-06-2023, 06:25 AM
Banned

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

What year/engine is your Q5?
Old 06-06-2023, 06:50 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Originally Posted by Httq5
What year/engine is your Q5?
My apologies, its a 2015 Premium Plus 2.0
Old 06-06-2023, 09:50 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 2,073 Likes on 1,765 Posts

HPFP mounts into the vacuum pump. The vacuum pump mounts to the back of the cylinder head, on the exhaust cam side. The back end of the exhaust cam turns the vacuum pump while also pumping the HPFP.

You might have a leaking vacuum pump seal. You might have a leaking HPFP o-ring. Or that could be "spray" coming from elsewhere, such as a leaking gasket on the PCV (object with the white cap) or cylinder head cover seal. You might want to clean it up and try to assess an origin of the leak. The air flow in the engine bay at highway speeds can carry oil a good ways.