Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

235/60R18 Nokian Hakkapeliitta SUV snow tires on 18" OEM winter wheels

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 09:53 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 235/60R18 Nokian Hakkapeliitta SUV snow tires on 18

For anyone who is considering dedicated snow tires and wheels for their Q7, I have some experience that might help. For the past eight years in Colorado and South Dakota my family has been driving on studded Nokian Hakkapeliitta snow tires in the winter, first with an A4 (mine) and then with a Land Rover Discovery II (wife's). I decided to start purchasing dedicated snow tires because I am an avid skier and try to head for the mountains whenever it starts snowing hard. Before running snow tires, that was often a stressful experience. Since making the switch, I am rarely nervous driving in the snow.

For the A4 and Discovery, I swapped tires back and forth each winter and spring on their original wheels. Although it was cheaper in the short run than purchasing dedicated wheels, the aggravation of dealing with local tire shops was not worth the savings. I've used different tire shops, and none of them were any good. They rarely finish within the estimated time, often damage the wheels, don't mark the rotation on the tires even when asked ahead of time, and it still costs $100 per car per year. The last time I brought the Discovery in for the switch, the shop used a socket that was 1/16" too large and ruined $225 worth of lug nuts.

When I bought the Q7 for my wife, I decided to purchase dedicated wheels and snow tires so I could change them myself each season and avoid the tire shop nightmare. I didn't know if the Q7's tire pressure monitoring system could be temporarily disabled, so I bought sensors and the required valve stems as well. Following is a breakdown of the total cost: