Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

Advice on Towing with 2018 Q7

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2020, 10:14 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on Towing with 2018 Q7

Hi! I am new to towing with my 2018 Q7 3.0
I want to rent a trailer that has a hitch weight of 555lbs (my tongue cap is 770lbs) but I recently rented a trailer with a 437lb hitch weight and it sunk the back of my Audi so low I had to scramble to find a hitch with a rise so I could proceed with my non-refundable rental. I'm interested in renting a trailer with a hitch weight 120lb heavier than the one I rented before. I was so concerned at how very low the back of the Audi was at 437lb since the top of my tires were almost in the wheel well. It hardly seemed adequate or safe. The trailer I want to rent is heavier by a small margin both overall and on the hitch weight, should I not exceed the weight of the previous trailer to remain safe? I just don't know how much more weight my car can take on the hitch without it sinking to the ground. I'm starting to feel like Audi towing isn't all its cracked up to be. I have posted the specs of the trailer I want to rent and my Audi in hopes anyone can offer me some advice. The ball on my hitch has a max weight of 2k and the max weight on my ball mount is 6k lbs.....does that mean the trailer I'm pulling with a dry weight of 5368K lbs is just under the max the ball hitch can tow? Also should I also be installing a brake controller? When does that become necessary? Any advice would be greatly appreciated since Audi never takes my calls to answer specifics about my vehicle. Thank you kindly I really appreciate any and all advice.

2018 Cruiser RV Corp Fun Finder Xtra 23BH
GVWR 7,555 Lbs
Dry Weight 5,368 Lbs
Hitch Weight 555 Lbs
Carrying Capacity 2,139 Lbs

2018 Audi Q7 3.0
Horsepower: 333 hp
Engine: 3.0 L V6
MPG: 19 city / 25 highway
Curb weight: 4,938 lbs
Torque: 325 lb-ft