Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

Dealer goes down in my estimation

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2006, 11:38 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Dealer goes down in my estimation

What do you think of this then?
Just over three weeks ago I traded my 04 Range Rover in for the Q7. I got a good deal as I negotiated hard and know how to do it. I do it for a living as it happens, negotiate vehicle deals that is. It turns out that the deal was a bit too good as far as the dealer is concerned.

A bit of backround. Back in August I and my family test drove a Q7 and liked it so much that we asked for a price. I told the sales lady that it had a dent in the wing [wifes parking], was due for a service and its tyres were nearing the end of their life. I offered to repair the bodywork and to service the car [it had three years free servicing anyhow]. After the lady had researched and underwritten the RR with several LR dealers she offered me a price which I squeezed down a bit. Then I suggested that if she gave me another ?1000 off the balance I would fit four new tyres [which I calculated would leave me about ?450 better off]. She declined, saying that her offer was the best she could do. Fair enough and after some debate with my family we did the deal. So far so good.