Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

Headlights On With Auto-Wipers?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2015, 08:45 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Headlights On With Auto-Wipers?

Audi newbie here: It seemed that my 2015 Q7 did not turn on the lights (headlights/taillights) the last time I drove it in the rain and the auto-wipers turned on. Before questioning the dealer I wanted to do a little research and....

Soooooooooooooooo - what I am reading in various threads on the forum is that Audi vehicles do not automatically turn on the headlights when the auto-wipers turn on. Is this really the case?

With all the safety and technology built into Audi, and Audi leading the way of autonomous driving cars I cannot believe that Audi vehicle does not turn on the headlights when the auto-wipers turn on.

Again: Is this really the case?

Kind Regards!
Old 01-12-2015, 03:35 PM
Ultimate Keyboard Warrior

Received 284 Likes on 204 Posts

Mine don't turn on.
Old 01-13-2015, 04:23 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Providing the lighting switch is in the Auto position then the lights on UK and European models turn on if the wipers are activated for at least three consecutive wipes.
I cannot speak for US models but if they don't then it's a US configuration thing, not the car itself.
Old 01-13-2015, 05:28 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 389 Likes on 350 Posts

Originally Posted by Edd W
I cannot speak for US models but if they don't then it's a US configuration thing, not the car itself.

Maybe it's something in the coding. It's possible our friends at Ross-Tech know if it can be enabled on USA cars.
Old 01-13-2015, 09:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by uberwgn
Maybe it's something in the coding. It's possible our friends at Ross-Tech know if it can be enabled on USA cars.
I'll bet that it can.
Old 01-13-2015, 10:15 AM
AudiWorld Expert