Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

Q7 Towing a Boat?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2013, 02:31 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Q7 Towing a Boat?

I currently have a 2001 Suburban towing my Wakeboard Boat approx weight 5500lbs.
I am purchasing a 2014 Q7 TDI
Problem is Dealers won't let me pull my boat to test drive the ride.

How do I decide if it will be a good vehicle as far as ride quality compared to Suburban.

My issues:
Ive been towing boats for 15 years Suburban Type vehicle but really liked to downsize
I tow 45 min to lake 2X month and 300 miles on vacations.
boat ramp is slippery when wet.
Do I need suspension package?

Any and All suggestions welcome

3 dealers in my area have said Nada for insurance reasons.
Old 10-07-2013, 04:51 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Your limit (officially anyways) is 6600lbs with the tow package. I tow a boat that weighs approximately 6200lbs as it sits on the trailer (trailer weight, gas, water, skis and all the other crap you end up taking included). I have a 2011 TDi with air suspension. We have absolutely ZERO problems towing our boat. I had an expedition before the Q7 and there is no comparison between the two. The Q7 wins every time. I would highly recommend the air suspension as it will auto level the car. Another really cool thing the Q7 will automatically do is switch the brake bias to the rear wheels if it senses a trailer hooked up and a rearward slope. No more front wheels skidding down a slippery ramp when trying to back your boat down. Basically slippery ramps won't matter anymore. Good luck with whatever you decide.
Old 10-07-2013, 05:16 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Perfect. Exactly what I needed to know.

So
Air suspension is a MUST or a nice thing to have. It means ordering vs buying off the lot cause no one around here seems to order it.