Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

US Thule Rack + Thule Atlantis 1800 XT on 2010 Q7 TDI S-Line

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2010, 07:01 PM
Audiworld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default US Thule Rack + Thule Atlantis 1800 XT on 2010 Q7 TDI S-Line

In my quest to be able to carry six passengers and six passengers' stuff for a week at the beach, I picked up a rack and a cargo box.

The Q7 is my first SUV and I have no previous experience whatsoever with roof racks or cargo boxes. In my quest for information before making the purchase, I really wanted to see lots of pictures of exactly how everything attached and how it all looked. I was able to find a few pictures here and there (mostly on this site), but I still wasn't satisfied with what I found. So, this thread contains lots of pictures of my setup.

I went with the US Thule Rack only because Roofrackshop.co.uk was out of stock and couldn't tell me when the UK rack would be back in stock. I needed the rack immediately, so I went down to REI and purchased both the rack and the cargo box.

I went with the Thule Atlantis 1800 XT because I wanted a large box, but not too large so that I could still open the rear cargo hatch up all the way. I'm pretty sure that had I gone with the new Thule Boxter or the Atlantis 2100, I wouldn't be able to open the rear gate all the way. The Atlantis 1800 is 18 cubic feet and holds a lot of stuff. Although it does cover the "sharkfin," we have experienced no issues with Sirius radio nor with the satellite navigation.

Here's some pictures of my setup:

Full side view:

Offset side view (kinda blurry, sorry):

Full rear view:

Box and Roof rear closeup:

Box closeup from the side:

Aerial View:

Just barely enough room to open the gate all the way. The box can be positioned forward or backward about five inches: