Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

HD Matrix-design Headlight vs Standard Matrix-design

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2020, 12:57 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HD Matrix-design Headlight vs Standard Matrix-design

I am about to order a 2021 Q7 Prestige Navarro Blue (4 Wheel Steering, Night Vision Assist, Laser Light, Tow). I am new to Audi but I must complain that the amount of product information I can find from them is dismal. I cannot even find a 2020 Q7 brochure online (Is there one?). The entire industry has created a confusion on what Driver Assistance Products you are getting through name jumbles and forget about even trying to figure out their actual capability for comparison. Even Audi gives you a couple of sentences about its various driver assists – and even that is a jumble because they may not even function the same across all vehicles that have the particular product. I resorted to down loading a 2020 owner’s manual to try and figure out some of this. OK kvetching over – well almost.

My question to the group – I have the 2021 Q7 55 TFSI order guide (with prices) and am going through it - I am going to order (maybe) the HD Matrix-design LED headlights w/ Audi Laser light PXB $1,650.

1. Is this the Matrix Headlight setup (PXB) that will be activated by the Dealer once the NHTSA gets it acts together on headlights – which currently this setup basically does nothing except a dance – to provide full adaptive driving beams with laser light beam?

2. The Prestige comes standard with “Matrix-Design LED Headlights” PXC– is this the same matrix headlight listed (above) in PXB – just without the Laser Light addition? And would it also be capable of being activated by the Dealer to provide full adaptive driving beam (once the regulation is changed?) I noticed the missing “HD” from the description.