So the verdict is in from Stammler on my oil leak...

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2007, 01:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So the verdict is in from Stammler on my oil leak...

It is now the opinion that there was a "pinhole leak in one of the cylinder heads" in the service manager's words. Apparently some JB Weld has been used to repair it and I can pick the car up today. I'm not sure how a cylinder head leak would drip outside the block or how a cylinder head has a pinhole leak, but I'm not a mechanic. Maybe he meant there was a leak in valve cover? Will post my findings after driving the car again, but I'd love to hear some feedback on the current diagnosis and repair method.

I searched (using basic keywords) and couldn't find anything similar ever being reported.

Related thread if you desire background info.<ul><li><a href="https://forums.audiworld.com/rockymtn/msgs/92127.phtml">https://forums.audiworld.com/rockymtn/msgs/92127.phtml</a</li></ul>
Old 04-09-2007, 02:14 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Um, I sure wouldn't let the dealer repair my car with JB Weld!

If the head has a pin hole leak, I'd demand a new head!
Old 04-09-2007, 02:16 PM

2nd. JB Weld doesn't fix the problem. It's a temporary fix.
Old 04-09-2007, 02:26 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default JB Weld is not a suitable solution

If it is a valve cover leaking, RTV silicone, high temp is a decent solution. Still, if it is a bad gasket, replace the freaking gasket and add RTV to fill any potential gaps.

Regardless, you are in for more "leaks" at some point if they are just patching things.

I would recommend finding out EXACTLY where they say the leak is coming from. It doesn't matter if you are a mechanic or mechanically inclined, the exact terms are what's important here.

Your resources on AW can help you out with what they were trying to really do.
Old 04-09-2007, 03:00 PM

Default pinhole sized hole in the cylinder head looks like manuf. defect?