Suggestions for a fun, scenic drive near Boulder

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2004, 06:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for a fun, scenic drive near Boulder

Hey Folks:

I'm new to Boulder and I'm thinking of taking a drive tomorrow with the family to tool around in the mountains. I figure something around 2-3 hours. Anyone have suggestions for a stunning drive, scenery etc.? Hopefully something, with a nice stop midway for lunch and fun. I hear Estes Park is a tourist trap - true?

Thanks!
Old 08-14-2004, 06:43 PM
Pat
AudiWorld Super User

Search for a post of mine in the last three months about scenic byways. Great website.
Old 08-14-2004, 06:56 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 33 Likes on 18 Posts
Default blam

<ul><li><a href="http://www.coloradobyways.org/Main.cfm">http://www.coloradobyways.org/Main.cfm</a</li></ul>
Old 08-14-2004, 07:00 PM

Default thanks for the link

Looking at the map looks like 119 to 72 to 36 takes me thru Nederland then to Estes then home - is that a pretty cool drive? 72 looks like it might be fun. How many lanes are these roads?
Old 08-14-2004, 07:02 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Estes Park the city is worthless, Rocky Mountain natl park is incredible

if you're going to have the allroad (or anything with more clearance than my dropped A4) and have a bit of patience, go to Rocky Mountain natl park and take Fall River Rd to Trail Ridge Rd. Fall River is a beautiful one way dirt road that connects from the floor of the park all the way to the top of Trail Ridge (which is the highest continually paved road in the country). The road is well kept and gorgeous the entire way. The only downside is that flatlander tourists get near the top where there is big exposure and freak out, then do 5mph to the top without letting traffic by. If you can get up there during non-peak times it's the most memorable drive in that area of the state, in my opinion. Will probably take 3-4hrs round trip.