RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

I'm an M driver (M Vs S) my opinions.uh oh! before it starts, read my post ;) (long -youll like)

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 06:47 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm an M driver (M Vs S) my opinions.uh oh! before it starts, read my post ;) (long -youll like)

Ive been a bmw guy for the last ten years, owned 4 m3s since 98 (still own two of them). (98 m3 sedan 5sp, 99 m3 coupe 5sp, 04 m3 coupe 6sp, 95 m3 coupe 5sp). While i had considered the b5 s4 back in the day, i ultimately went with the e36 m3 because it felt like a much better product OFF THE LOT - I think the b5 s4 was a couple grand more when I priced them out years ago. Obviously, the s4 had much more mod potential, but ultimately made the choice for the m3. The stock suspension differences made all the difference to me. I felt like the s4 was a bit more sedate and soft for the less spirited driver/consumer market. With the new v8 s4 vs the e46 m3, that comparison became more apparent to me, so I again opted for the e46 m3.

That being said, I have been REALLY happy with my choices. Only recently have I been wanting the BIG power that is available through that turbo b5, but the car would have to be a project car at this point if i get one. To be honest, I have always regarded the audi "S-cars" as just one notch below the bmw "m-cars" when it comes to the performance oriented driver.