S4 (B6 & B7 Platforms) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi S4 produced from 2003-2005 And B7 Audi S4 produced from 2005 -2008

Anyone buy a car remotely and had it shipped? Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2008, 05:30 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone buy a car remotely and had it shipped? Need advice

I am thinking of buying a CPO'd car from an Audi dealer in CT (Fairfield Audi in Fairfield, CT).

It was originally purchased & serviced there, they have all service records which they faxed to me - no problems at all just standard service.
Because of the distance and the fact there is no convenient airport close by I was thinking of having it shipped. I have never done this before and was looking for advice on what further precautions I should take, what if anything, special I should try to get in writing, etc.
Old 11-03-2008, 05:57 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Did you have someone local to the area go look at the car personally?

There are car haulers, and its good to clean and WAX THE HELL OUT OF THE CAR prior to shipping it... where are you located?

If you are going to ship it out of CT better do it fast before the salt and snow gets brewing in a month or so...
Old 11-03-2008, 06:29 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default Re: Anyone buy a car remotely and had it shipped? Need advice

I bought my Arctic White 05 S4 w/35,700 miles from a dealership in AZ. They quoted around $1K for shipping to Houston, TX which was included in the final sale price ($27,950). Took two days for the delivery. The car wasn't wrapped up or anything and had bug splatter but it wasn't too bad. A quick wash made it look sparkling. Didn't really take any precautions...guess I'm the trusting type. :P
Old 11-03-2008, 06:55 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default Re: Did you have someone local to the area go look at the car personally?