S4 (B6 & B7 Platforms) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi S4 produced from 2003-2005 And B7 Audi S4 produced from 2005 -2008

If I'm off the throttle in a turn is Quattro and/or ESP going to do anything?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 05:41 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default If I'm off the throttle in a turn is Quattro and/or ESP going to do anything?

If I'm off the throttle and losing control in a turn would it be a good idea to give it some power and let Quattro and ESP help me out? Keep in mind that I'm an armchair driver with no driving school or track day experience.
Old 01-23-2007, 05:44 PM
AudiWorld Expert

Default Quattro no (huge misconception about the "safety" of quattro; ) other than added weight;

ESP potentially...if you break loose.

Every winter we have people that aren't in the snow, come on here and say how on the fwy in rain, quattro saved their *** because they swerved and maneuvered away from a hazard.

99.99% of the time, that is ESP saving them if they lost traction; and that feeling of being stuck to the road...that's called owning a luxo-muscle car that weighs 4k lbs.
Old 01-23-2007, 05:45 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 19 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Quattro no, ESP yes...

you over cook it into a turn and esp will brake for you to correct things. Keep in mind you cant break the laws of physics but esp will bring you pretty close to the line. Quattro does nothing for you unless you have foot on the go peddal...
Old 01-23-2007, 05:46 PM
AudiWorld Expert

beat you bish.
Old 01-23-2007, 06:16 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Power is your friend. Quattro works under power, not coasting, not braking.
Old 01-23-2007, 07:36 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default that's called lift off over steer (or lift throttle over steer)...what happens is when you lift off