S4 (B6 & B7 Platforms) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi S4 produced from 2003-2005 And B7 Audi S4 produced from 2005 -2008

S4 B6 coil packs - How to?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2009, 06:47 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S4 B6 coil packs - How to?

Hi All. Forum Newbie here. I searched the S4 forums for coil pack replacement DIY guide, but either got so many hits or not enough info to find what I was looking for.

Hope you guys can help!

I purchased a very nice S4 B6 6-speed with 43K miles a few months ago. Love the car.

Decided to clean the engine compartment 2 weeks ago. Bad mistake.
Anyway, despite trying to avoid spraying water onto the electrics, I must have got water or resulting condensation into the coil packs, as a week later, I had 3 coil packs got - cylinders 4, 5 and 8.

The dealer replaced all three (out of warranty, so on my dime) with the "T" version coils, and suggested that I also replave the other 5 coils at the same time, even though they showed no misfires or errors on their diagnostics.

I, being the damned all-knowing, cynical, idiot that I am....declined their fine offer, assuming this was totally unnecessary.

Well, last evening, I had the same flashing ECL and bad misfire develop (this in the very wet and rainy conditions we had the whole of yesterday....headlights fogged-up again, etc)

Anyway...I now want to replace the other 5 cylinder's coil packs (Cylinders 1,2,3,6,7)

A few questions...

1. Is the latest coil pack, the "T" version?
I see the dealer replaced the 3 packs with part number 077-905-115-T, which I assume is the latest/best version?

2. How are the Audi S4 cylinders identified?
i.e. which is cylinder 1,2,3,4,5....etc?

3. I found a site with what seems like really good prices for the T packs - http://www.dartauto.com/parts/VW/Audi/2006/S4E/I2/8536#

Does this sound like a good deal?