S4 (B6 & B7 Platforms) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi S4 produced from 2003-2005 And B7 Audi S4 produced from 2005 -2008

Stock S4 vs Stock M3 (long)

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2004, 04:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock S4 vs Stock M3 (long)

There have been numerous posts regarding this topic and the fact is that I knew when I bought my S4 that the M3 was slightly faster. Every car magazine test has rated the 0-60 or 1/4 mile runs in favor of the M3. There may have been one that rated them equal but this was definitely not the norm. Yes, I've seen the Top Gear video numerous times as well.

This doesn't mean that you can't beat an M3 if you're a better driver. You definitely can. I ran against a 2002 M3 stock for stock and beat him 2 times. He beat me 3 times. In every case I was ahead of him to about the 3-4 shift when his trap speed definitely starts to show and he passed me(well in the 3 that he won). I believe that I'm a slightly better driver than he is. My launch was better everytime since I got some good distance on him early. I shouldn't have been able to get that much distance on him in the first section.

Bottom line is that I love my S4 and I didn't buy it because it's faster than an M3, it definitley is not faster. I bought it for AWD, 4 doors, recaro seats and the fact that it's an awesome car with a great balance of daily driver and fun.
Old 09-10-2004, 04:42 AM
AudiWorld Super User

well said....
Old 09-10-2004, 04:44 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default I was just saying below that the M3 is not as bad a$$ as people want to make out to be. I also said